Local not necessarily green? [Science]

2009 Jul 23
www.cbc.ca

I found this article on CBC and it raised an interesting point, that the efficiency of agriculture at source may be more important in some cases then the effort in transportation, at least as far as energy requirements / CO2 emissions are concerned. What are your thoughts?

2009 Jul 23
Buying local is as much about supporting local businesses for me as it is about being "green" or "eco-friendly".

I really think that in an ideal world, I would like to eat a lot more whole foods, and that that would probably decrease the amount of energy output require to produce what I eat.

But then again, I'm a bit of noob when it comes to this.

2009 Jul 23
Perfectly understandable, there are a host of different reasons for buying local. I tend to make my food decisions first on flavour, next on environmental impact and third on supporting local buisnesses. I'm not quite noble enough to avoid tropical fruit despite the envionmental impact because, honestly, I am like all humans and like tasty food. Still, environmental impact is rather key for me as a damaged environment will no longer be capable of supporting either us or the ecosystems we depend on.

2009 Jul 23
There are other ethical questions about the 100 mile diet to consider outside of just being green. While I do enjoy buying local consider this - do all your local producers sell their product with in 100 miles or do they also dump as much of it as they can on other markets - particularly in emerging economies? If you take corn for example - although I'd never buy corn grown less than 10km from where I live - corn and corn products are subsidized and dumped from Canada and especially from the US on many developing countries at rates which the local producers can not compete with. For the poor, there is no choice but to buy the cheapest, and in turn this increases poverty, and reliance on foreign producers.