Has Anyone Ever Tried a Barney's Pizza ? [General]

2008 Aug 21
I sometimes drive by this place, Barney's Pizza and Subs link ---> Barney's Pizza and Subs <---

Anybody out there ever try a Pizza from this place ? I'm curious.

2008 Aug 21
I think I had a pie from there once. If I recall correctly it's 'Ottawa Style' Lebanese/Greek pizza - thick crust, lots of cheese, big pepperoni and other toppings underneath the cheese. Nothing too memorable but then again I probably had it like 3-4 years ago when I was a student. It's also more than likely I probably ate it at 3-4am as well :P

2008 Aug 21
Cap'n: LOL, after many a smoke have I perused the Barney's Pizza flyer and wondered "Would this satisfy my munchies?"

Monty: thanks for the rundown.

2008 Aug 22
"If I recall correctly it's 'Ottawa Style' Lebanese/Greek pizza - thick crust, lots of cheese, big pepperoni and other toppings underneath the cheese."

This got me thinking... how about a sub-tag for different pizza styles? If that's even possible to define.

I lament the fact that "Ottawa Style" is associated with my least favourite type of pie.

2008 Aug 22
Ollie - Good TANGENT!
I'm always amazed by the different styles of Pizza, for example:

"Ottawa Style" (although that probably isn't the best name for it) can be found just about anywhere in the Ottawa & St. Lawrence Valley (including Montreal). It's big it's cheezy and a bit of greasey oily mixture runs down your hand. Definitely a style dominated by Lebanese & Greek heritage business owners.

"Montreal Style" (at least that is what lots of people I know call it, because it can be found in the Italian & Jewish sectors of Montreal) has a more bread type crust with just a touch of sauce and some herbs. This style of pizza can be found at The Prescott, and is most commonly known in Ottawa as "Square Pizza".